Learning Opportunities

EAL Benchmarks 2.0 Collaborative Community

Presented By

Kathy Salmon

Series Sessions

Date Time
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 01, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 08, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, March 01, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, March 08, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday, March 22, 2023 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Location

Online

Grade Levels

Pre K - 1, K-3, Grades 4 - 6, Grades 7 - 9, Grades 10 - 12

What feedback do you have on the draft Alberta EAL Benchmarks 2.0?

Collaborate with colleagues to provide feedback to Alberta Education on the draft EAL Benchmarks 2.0. This Collaborative Community is for jurisdictional leaders supporting schools in their work with English Language Learners. The purpose is to create dialogue and discuss recommendations to The sessions will be facilitated by Kathy Salmon, one of the principle writers of the Benchmarks 2.0. Each session will explore a different aspect of the EAL Benchmarks 2.0:

  • Session 1: Benchmark levels and divisions
  • Session 2: Benchmark key competencies for assessment
  • Session 3: Vocabulary indicators and examples
  • Session 4: Sentence Structure indicators and examples
  • Session 5: Cohesive Devices indicators and examples
  • Session 6: Supporting Competencies 1
  • Session 7: Supporting Competencies 2
  • Session 8: Language Continuums
  • Session 9: Programming
  • Session 10: Benchmarks Summary

 

Meeting Structure:

  • 10 min : Overview of session topic and considerations
  • 20 min –30 min: Break-out group discussion and idea generation
  • 20 min: Breakout group reports to whole group
  • 10 -20 min – Consensus on recommendations/feedback

Subscribe to our Newsletter